PDA

View Full Version : Relocation Newbie, moving over next year.

LameDuck
22-11-2011, 17:27
Hi, I'm new to this forum, so be gentle with me ;-)

My current contract ends in march, I'm a programmer. There isn't much work here and frankly, I'm fed up with it anyway. I commute to London daily, to earn enough money to heat a ridiculously large flat. Time for a change of life.

I tried it once before on Fuerteventura, but failed. The reality was, that the work was very limited on that island and with a wife and 3 kids to support, my income never covered my outgoings. Things are different now, kids have grown up and gone and my wife, isn't, so I'll be on my own :-) I figure Tenerife is a better option this time, should be more chances of making a living. Yes more competition, but more opportunites, hopefully.

My plan is to buy a big white van and slowly tour down through france and spain to cadiz, then ferry over. I will kit the van out inside as a basic living space and storage, so I can bring my "toyz" over. Then while I'm get established, can sleep in the van, if need be! Are there any issues in sleeping in the van, would it be classed as illegal camping, or as it's an ordinary looking van, would the boys in brown or blue just ignore it? Or would the UK plates just attract them?

Is busking legal in Tenerife? I was planning to do some busking, just to raise some cash in the early stages of my time on the island. Not a permanent option, would much rather have a more normal job, but don't mind what that is.

Could I get my van legal in Tenerife? I'll pick up a left hand drive one anyway and if I can get myself and my van legal, might be a way to make a living with that 2? Or is the island full of people doing the "man with a van" thing?

Sorry, huge first post. 3 months of planning and arranging. A month cruising Europe, then I arrive.

Thanks

Jim

stevem
22-11-2011, 17:38
Hi Jim, firstly welcome. Secondly, if that's your business plan, please seriously reconsider!