PDA

View Full Version : Finance Euro Crisis Looking For Safe Bank In Tenerife

Drumbo
19-05-2012, 11:29
I send my pension to Santander (I do it online) given all the grim news I'm getting paraniod and starting to think that I should look for a more secure bank.

As a newbie here I'm surprised I can't find more postings regarding the economic and banking situation here on the Forum, perhaps it is here but I can't find it.

I live in Golf de Sur and wonder if there is a German bank here that facilitates customers like myself.

There must be many on the Forum who are in my situation and unsure of what to do.

golf birdie
19-05-2012, 11:40
your money is safe where it is unless you have more that 100k in the account. They will never let a bank go and leave their clients to lose their money. It would be the end of the whole banking system.

junglejim
19-05-2012, 11:41
I would imagine that all banks in Spain(Including Tenerife) are covered by Spanish Financial Laws - the same way that all Banks in UK (Including Santander UK) are covered by UK FinancialLaws and guarantees?
I would have thought Santander in Spain was one of the more secure Banks ?

tonypub
19-05-2012, 11:47
bankinter at fanabe plaza,its german owned

Drumbo
19-05-2012, 11:54
The news is that Santander Uk is financialy separate from the Spanish Santander, and they do not share each others debts. Santander Spain has just been downgraded again and they say it's vunerable and needs propping up.

Well golf birdie I wish I had that much to worry about . . . .it might be safer putting it in the mattress :)

CIM
19-05-2012, 12:01
There is also Deutsche bank - they have offices in Los Cristianos and Playa de Las Americas

junglejim
19-05-2012, 12:03
Here´s a link tobanks
http://www.spainexpat.com/spain/information/banking_options_for_expats_in_spain/
No matter what nationality the bank is - they are all under the financial rules in Spain for guarantees.

Drumbo
19-05-2012, 12:55
Thank you for that link junglejim.