PDA

View Full Version : Education What junior schools are there in Los Cristianos, Tenerife?

courtney129
18-06-2012, 22:15
Anyone advise me on junior schools in Los cristianos please, I have twin daughters of 11 & moving out there soon. Also, where do you ex-pats meet up in Los cristianos? Would love advise about everything. Eager for replies, thanks.

bonitatime
20-06-2012, 14:22
Don't do it they are the wrong age to adapt.

KirstyJay
20-06-2012, 14:32
Unless your kids are fluent Spanish, I'd have to agree with Bonitatime. I'm a big advocate of the state school system here, as I used to work in it, and would normally be all for putting kids into the Spanish system, but for your age of children it will be hard for them to adapt. They will have to start at High school in a year. A new school, new friends AND learning a new language would be extremely tough. I would consider a private school such as Wingate instead.

courtney129
20-06-2012, 17:14
Thank you both for replying, have wondered if wingate would be best, at least for the first year. But do they learn Spanish there?

fonica
20-06-2012, 18:08
Not enough to move into a Spanish instituto and study all subjects in Spanish.Even English kids who have been in the Spanish system for years can find if difficult. You would have to be prepared to put your twins in an expensive private school, like Wingate for at least 6 years, and then,if they were academic,they would want to return to the UK to go to Uni.Think long and hard about what you are doing and make sure you have a huge pot of money behind you because you will struggle to earn any here. Not being negative,I love the island and have been here 30 years with children and grandchildren here,but it is tough for the newcomers, especially if they don't speak fluent Spanish.

courtney129
20-06-2012, 20:08