PDA

View Full Version : Internet New SIM card for mobile modem won't connect

1247sandra
17-11-2012, 14:02
Was wondering if anyone had had this problem.i had a Vodafone mobile modem for years with a contract,then I cancelled the contract end of April and when I returned last week decided I would buy a pay as u go sim for it.The girl in the shop put the sim into the modem and I brought it back and put it in the USB and the green light flashed ok.Then I clicked on Vodafone connect box and clicked on dial and it won't connect.I have the new number and pin etc but it does not come up on screen asking for it.Help!

warbey
17-11-2012, 20:18
Sims usually only work on a particular Networked Phone as You probably know.

I am no Expert, so I advise asking Slodgedad who may..

TenerifeTeddy
17-11-2012, 20:47
Assuming you are using a Vodafone sim in a Vodafone dongle and you are using it on the same machine then the settings from the previous sim will most likely still be stored on the PC settings.

You need to remove the dongle, uninstall the program and make sure the folder is deleted in Program Files, restart the PC and then reinsert the dongle and reinstall the software. It should then connect OK.

1247sandra
18-11-2012, 12:14
Thanks for your help.I have got the program up from the control panel but I have two things on it,one says Vodafone Mobile Broadband Lite and the other Vodafone Mobile Connect Modem.Do I uninstall both program's?I don't have Any instructions for the modem now they were thrown away some years ago.

delderek
18-11-2012, 12:39
Thanks for your help.I have got the program up from the control panel but I have two things on it,one says Vodafone Mobile Broadband Lite and the other Vodafone Mobile Connect Modem.Do I uninstall both program's?I don't have Any instructions for the modem now they were thrown away some years ago.