PDA

View Full Version : Health What is the procedure after a workplace injury in Tenerife?

seanocelt
29-04-2013, 17:47
My wife had a small mishap at work, and went to the doctor to have her foot looked at (top of foot/metatarsal pain). The doctor, rather than send her for an xray, insists she gets a form from work and visits " Mutua"? I have no knowledge of this procedure, does anyone else? Would be nice to be treated first, but proper procedures must be followed!

warbey
29-04-2013, 17:51
Make sure the Incident is entered in the Accident Book at Her Employment Sean...

marbro8
29-04-2013, 17:56
Make sure the Incident is entered in the Accident Book at Her Employment Sean...and take some photo's of the injury it may come in handy later;)

TenerifePool
29-04-2013, 19:27
Find out which mutua the employer is dealing with.
Phone them with your wife's details and make an appointment.

Javi
01-05-2013, 09:57
My wife had a small mishap at work, and went to the doctor to have her foot looked at (top of foot/metatarsal pain). The doctor, rather than send her for an xray, insists she gets a form from work and visits " Mutua"? I have no knowledge of this procedure, does anyone else? Would be nice to be treated first, but proper procedures must be followed!

Sorry for hearing your wife had an accident.

Every workplace accident (under employment contract) must be treated by a "Mutua of Accidents and Occupational Illness." Every employer, even self-employed, have to be associated to a Mutua (by law, so it isn't an option).

In case an employee get injured during weekends, bank holidays, night shifts and the like, then she/he can be treated in any health center (private or public). The health center will inform the Mutua about the accident and the injured employee has to visit the Mutua on the first business day.

If your employer didn't inform the Mutua beforehand by sending them "El Parte de Accidente", they could refuse to assist you.