PDA

View Full Version : Relocation Excited & scared at the same time. We're moving to South Tenerife on the 30th May 13!

tenerifemummy
06-05-2013, 23:33
Hi Everyone!!!!

I'm new to the thread, I've been hoovering for months seeking out advice and have found this site soooo helpful!!!

We are a family of 4, me, hubby and our 2 children aged 1 and 11 and are moving to Tenerife on 30th May this year, we have rented a property for 6 months to see how we get on, my husband and I are both self employed (well was in UK and want to be in Tenerife) and have an internet based business, my head is hurting with all the things I need to sort out when we get there: Any advice would be much appreciated.

Internet/Phone - Needed ASAP as we need to work to earn money

Schools for children - looking at spanish state schools (daughter is 11 and am so worried about her feeling alone and confused being in a school with people she wont be able to communicate with)

Having no car until we see if we want to stay! Any advice on 6 month car hire? Also if you have a UK driving licence can you still hire a car for 6 mths?

Spanish Tutor for us all (preferably 1-2-1 lessons for us all)

utilities - who do you go with?

Spanish bank account? do we open a resident or non resident bank account and is our HMR UK paperwork enough documentation to prove we are self employed over in UK?

Spanish mobiles - where would we purchase these?

Medical - have our European Health cards, would we have to pay to see a GP if one of the children got ill or are we covered?

So many questions I'm sorry, but I keep searching the internet and all the information is kinda making my brain fuzzy ;0)

Tenerifemummy
xxxx

slodgedad
06-05-2013, 23:36
Hi Everyone!!!!

I'm new to the thread, I've been hoovering for months seeking out advice and have found this site soooo helpful!!!