PDA

View Full Version : Relocation Mechanic considering a move to Tenerife

Buzz
16-01-2014, 21:43
Hello all,

Not sure where to start but here I go. After several visits and many months of thought I keep coming back to the urge to try my luck in Tenerife. I come to this decision every time I go but then come back, do my research and get put off my the things I read in this forum.

Obviously the main concern and problem for people is getting work. If you are lucky enough to get any work usually the only things going are PR work, bar work, call centre's etc. There's not much options for careers and the only industry left really is tourism.

One thing however that is in abundance and will be for some time to come are cars, vans, trucks etc. I am a highly qualified technician with 12 years experience (27 years old) and several other skills and qualifications under my belt. My question I think now is obvious but what do people think employment would be like for such a person?

I have a place I can stay for a few months and intend to take a 2-3 month leave with some savings I have, Maybe grab some part time work (if possible but not necessary) and see what I can conjure up possibly working as a mechanic.

The only bridge I will be burning at home will be my work. I'm not 100% happy where I am anyway and was planning to leave. If I was to go to Tenerife and come back I would be confident in finding a job again as there are always jobs going in this trade and well qualified mechanics are in demand.

Any thoughts or guidance greatly appreciated. I have more I'd like to say on the matter but have tried to keep it as short and informative as possible.

Hepa
16-01-2014, 21:53
The questions you have to ask is, would your qualifications be recognized in Spain? also would the language present any difficulties?

Buzz
16-01-2014, 22:09