PDA

View Full Version : Relocation Hi, I'm a newbie on the Tenerife forum thinking of retiring there

Philhull
31-01-2014, 21:22
Hi all, I have joined this forum as the wife and I are looking to retire to somewhere warm in the next few years and Tenerife seems to tick all the boxes, climate, scenery, EU etc and just want to gather a bit of info. We have only been to Tenerife once and it was a high rise, all inclusive hotel and to be quite honest it wasn't the best holiday we've ever had. We would like to know which location on the island is best as indeed is Tenerife the best Canary island to retire to?.
We would initially prefer to 'long term rent' and rent our property out in the UK so would also like to know typical cost of renting and if there are any good rental website to have a look at.

Regards Phil & Michelle

Hepa
01-02-2014, 13:17
You are wise to rent, at first I fancied retiring on Gran Canaria, still love the island, but in 1995 I discovered the island of El Hierro, and here I am and have been for a number of years.

Each island is different to the others, from the dry eastern isles, to the lush western islands, it is a difficult choice, but if you are renting you can move elsewhere if the one you are on does not meet expectations.

The link below shows you photos of where we live, and where there are only four English residents.

https://plus.google.com/photos/109554244082575937272/albums/5598418677482639217?banner=pwa

- - - - - - - - - - merged double post - - - - - - - - - -

Just noticed that you are also from the broad acres!!

LUCKY
01-02-2014, 13:21
You are wise to rent, at first I fancied retiring on Gran Canaria, still love the island, but in 1995 I discovered the island of El Hierro, and here I am and have been for a number of years.