PDA

View Full Version : Employment Where can I find work playing traditional Spanish guitar in Tenerife?

jjp
19-02-2014, 00:17
Does anyone ever see good quality 'Spanish' guitarists playing instrumental Classical / Flamenco music in restaurants / hotels?

If so, which restaurants are these?

(I'm a professional guitarist in the UK thinking of trying my luck in Tenerife)

Thanks!

warbey
19-02-2014, 21:01
I know of three Ive encountered over the last 5 or so Years

Each one from a good Band in the U.K. of Yesteryear.
Two do M.c. and the Other one did a fewe appearences each Week.

I know of another two who play in Bars, but the Genre is Pop Music, mostly 60's to 90's.

That seems to be the Market. It is the Canaries, and perhaps not so much Flamenco as the Peninsula. (Mainland).

Cases such as Yours will always be advised to Holiday There and see for Yourself..

jjp
19-02-2014, 23:37
Thanks Warbey, I plan to come and check out the scene quite soon. I guess I am hoping the more upmarket hotels/restaurants might be interested rather than bars, but will have to see.

If anyone else has seen classical / Spanish / Flamenco guitarists playing around I would love to hear about it. Also pianists in background situations.

deepdivejunkie
21-02-2014, 20:06
Search on Google "anuncios musicos tenerife"

There are quite a few websites for musicians wanted and available for work on these sites.
Give it a go. :goodluck: :guitar1:

jjp
21-02-2014, 21:09
Will do - thanks deepdivejunkie!

Skeggy
22-02-2014, 09:13
I saw Manuel Barrueco at the Santa Cruz Auditorium, classical guitar at it's finest... Good Luck perhaps Santa Cruz or La Laguna would be more suitable for your situation.

Muppet
22-02-2014, 10:58