PDA

View Full Version : Business Chat Have you ever sold a business in Tenerife?

Peely
23-05-2014, 01:19
Hey everyone :)

I'm a journalist writing an article discussing why people choose to sell their businesses in Tenerife, and would really appreciate some first-hand stories and experiences that I can use and perhaps quote on :D

Have you ever sold a business in Tenerife? Why did you decide to sell? Were you expanding? Retiring? Did the business fail, or were you just looking for a new direction?

Any help would be much appreciated! :thanx:

Emelia

CIM
23-05-2014, 11:21
It seems that many are selling on after realising that the business does not make anywhere near as much as they thought it would - or no profit at all. So they are trying to recoup as much of their initial investment as possible before returning home. It is very common and many of the agents selling "businesses" are complicit in misleading would be buyers about the income / prospects of the businesses they are selling.

I´m sure there are a few good businesses for sale here but what you generally see is something on the market for 60,000€ that purports to make the owners a healthy income of 3,000€ a month whilst working only 4 hours a day.

I have made inquiries about several and the facts and figures very often fall apart under scrutiny.
An teeth whitening clinic ran from someone's rented home - on sale for 90,000€ with claimed profits of 9,000€ per month....
A laser etching machine that creates 3d photos of people etched into crystal. Huge profits! Looking for someone to buy into the company... (I actually went along for an evening to see how "booming" this business was and they did precisely zero etchings whilst I was there.
That is to name but two which have been advertised on this very forum.