PDA

View Full Version : Employment Would my UK diploma be accepted for job applications in Tenerife?

Desborough.A
13-07-2014, 19:35
So, if any of you don't recognise my name, ive introduced myself abit in the "introductions" thread.

im primarily here for the banter and to gain some knowledge on moving to tenerife, i don't have a date set and don't intend too until the correct time. ive spoke to people briefly while out there some who sing its praises and others who i prefer tell it how it is.

one thing ive never been able to delve into is one of the main points that would make my decision of a move or not.

i hold a Diploma in Logistics & Supply Chain Management.
I'm partially aware that this may mean nothing in the grand scheme of things? like would it help

basically i would obviously use this to find work, anything from truck driving to port ops

I'm currently learning Spanish, im aware just like most other languages that there's "slang" so to speak, ie Canarian Spanish compared to main land Spanish.

so my base question really is, what is the market like towards the need of qualified logistics personnel drivers warehousing etc etc currently dont hold any HGV licenses but i am in the process of getting that,

so a sub question would be,
my driving licence.

i hold car & Full motorcycle on my British licence if i was to get my heavy goods here in Britain would it be pointless?

or can all of my driving categories be carried over? or is it a re-test?

is there anybody currently in the logistics sector working there? i assume to know Spanish is an obvious advantage but is fluent Spanish essential?

thanks in advance.
Andy

bonitatime
14-07-2014, 12:42
If you don't speak Spanish there are a very limited number of companies who have this type of jobs

Desborough.A
14-07-2014, 13:59
If you don't speak Spanish there are a very limited number of companies who have this type of jobs

thanks for the reply Bonitatime,