PDA

View Full Version : Cars & Transport What questions do you get asked when you take a car for ITV?

Hey Jude
28-11-2014, 10:30
I need some information to the kind of questions asked during the inspection.

I have to go this time on my own and know you have to drive through yourself, which I have never done before, so would appreciate it if someone could tell me what they ask you to do.

I already have an appointment and am not over the time limit.

Stoney
28-11-2014, 12:05
Is really easy if you speak spanish if not explain to the office that you don't speak spanish otherwise you won't know what they are asking you to do, when you drive the car through the checking procedure. From memory, but it is two years since I took mine, they will ask you to turn on your lights, use dip and main beam, check indicators, brake lights and reversing light, so checking these before you go is a must as it will fail if they don't work. Then they check the car exhaust emissions. You also drive over a pit which incorporates a rolling road, a mechanic asks you to apply the brakes and the hand brake, turn the steering wheel to full lock each way. He checks the underside of the car for any problems, then you wait for the result.:pray: In my humble opinion a much better system than in the UK and a lot quicker. Hope this helps and good luck

In The Sun
28-11-2014, 12:05
Don't worry if you don't speak Spanish they all speak English. Just let them know you only speak English

Stoney
28-11-2014, 12:18
Don't worry if you don't speak Spanish they all speak English. Just let them know you only speak English

Hey thanks for the new info, because the guy down the pit didn't last time I went, but I was lucky as someone else was there to tell me what he said.

In The Sun
28-11-2014, 12:24
Yes The twice that I have been the guy at the top of the pit has always been there and he spoke English

Hey Jude
28-11-2014, 15:37