PDA

View Full Version : Employment Employment attitudes in Tenerife

Rob.b
02-03-2015, 15:46
As part of a long term plan to move to the Island in a few years I am wondering about working on the Island. We will be financially able to move once I am 55 and my wife is 48. I am a IT service technician (printers pc's, networks ) and my wife is a administrator/PA. We will have good Spanish by then and will have a income from renting out our UK home and be mortgage free in Tenerife. Although we would like to be able to work part time and take home 400-500 euros a month to have a better standard of living.
My main question what is the Spanish attitudes to part time work? Do they have such things as zero hours contracts? Also what are their attitudes to employing British people in general? Is there work for older people? To be honest we would do the likes of shelf stacking etc in shops, bar work (wife has experience) and anything but sales. Am I being realistic or will I have to wait longer to move, until I can afford to properly retire? I would have gone down the self employed route and done a few different things but the tax system does not encourage that.

thanks
Rob

norte
04-03-2015, 18:22
you can always fix computers and printers black. many many people working black in spain because of tax system you mentioned before..

Ecky Thump
04-03-2015, 18:37
you can always fix computers and printers black. many many people working black in spain because of tax system you mentioned before..

When you say "Black", is that as in "the black economy,"which in turn basically means tax evasion...yes????

karen1234
04-03-2015, 18:38