PDA

View Full Version : Must see cultural things in Santa Cruz

Christianb
10-01-2016, 01:26

Can anybody suggest must see places of cultural/artistic/intellectual nature in the beautiful city of Santa Cruz in which I am fortunate now to live?

So far I have been only exploring the nature around and beautiful vistas, but feel the need to give more attention to the realms of civilisation as well.

If you can suggest places that you have seen or know about, it would be great, and the links would be useful.
Perhaps we could make a list of top 20 places?

If you live in this area and want to meet, it would be great too. I am looking more for intellectual types, as I am a writer etc

LUCKY
10-01-2016, 01:33
https://www.google.es/maps/place/Museo+Historico+Militar+de+Canarias/@28.4748196,-16.2476074,3a,75y,90t/data=!3m8!1e2!3m6!1s-cTYKn-Mje

ribuck
10-01-2016, 10:35
The market is in an architecturally interesting building. Just across the road is the arts centre, a boxy black building whose saving grace is a walkway going down a ramp right through it, cutting through the library above the heads of the library visitors. The library itself is open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year and is quite interesting (but not architecturally), and there are various other exhibitions and performances in the building. One of the little cafes near here, across the Barranco de Santos (in Calle La Concordia, not far from the footbridge) caters to bohemian/intellectual types. Sorry I can't remember the name or the exact location (I'm back in England at the moment), but you will know it immediately by the interesting content adorning the walls.