PDA

View Full Version : Relocation Your FIRST Spanish Driving Experience in Tenerife

galracer
17-03-2016, 17:45
Good evening :-)

My husband and i have taken the plunge to drive around Tenerife for a few weeks starting next week. I have seen the way cars are driven in Tenerife and i'm nervous as hell.

I have been driving in UK for over 10 years while my husband has been driving for over 20 years in UK but we have never driven in Tenerife before.

Can you guys please give us your first driving experience in Tenerife? :lol::hello:

caz12
17-03-2016, 20:53
driving in Tenerife is fine all I do is pull over when the traffic behind gets a bit long just take your time you will soon get used to driving around even parking is easy been all over Tenerife in the car good luck you will be fine

bennoa1
18-03-2016, 00:00
Most drivers are lunatics so keep your eyes everywhere. Just drive like they do, ie drive quick, brake as late as possible, and indicate when you want to overtake to intimidate the person you want to squeeze past. Also pull into exits on motorways as late as possible. And don't forget at islands give way to the left and any lane goes, and don't bother indicating as nobody else will.

Malteser Monkey
18-03-2016, 09:30
Roundabouts have totally different meanings over there - it's anyones guess to what lane and where you are going.

Also some use their indicators when they are slowing down eg at crossings.

bennoa1
18-03-2016, 09:55
Roundabouts have totally different meanings over there - it's anyones guess to what lane and where you are going.

Also some use their indicators when they are slowing down eg at crossings.

I do the indicator thing at crossings now all the time. Indicate left so nobody overtakes you. Its a great idea - not sure i'd implement anything else from their driving habits.

Malteser Monkey
18-03-2016, 10:07