PDA

View Full Version : Cars & Transport Bringing UK Range Rover car to Tenerife enquiry

galracer
05-08-2016, 19:34
Good evening,

I have received conflicting stories re bringing my car over as far as the legalities of the headlights on the vehicle is concerned.

Does anyone know if they can be converted or they'll have to be renewed? or are they legal here in Tenerife please?

Looking forward to hearing from you guys.

Thanks in advance.

essexeddie
05-08-2016, 19:46
You can run it for a while. I knew a guy that ran a UK car for years, but to be really legal there is a mountain of paperwork. You may need help.

galracer
05-08-2016, 19:57
http://www.tenerifeforum.org/tenerife-forum/forumdisplay.php?98-Cars-amp-Transport-in-Tenerife

loads saying about it NOT being conflicting.
Insurance validity, Wrong side of the rad traffic (for the car), costs etc etc
Bad idea, full stop ;) Alvy,

Thank you for response. I have been driving here for many years and have not had any problems so far. I'm fully aware about the insurance , the car being on the wrong side of the road traffic,costs etc etc. Alvy,its not my driving abilities that i'm asking about, please read the question again.
Thanks for your time.

vove
05-08-2016, 20:17
What type of headlights you have that they make you concerned? I would say you are good to go if the car was bought inside EU.

Or do you mean spotlights? :confused:

In general there is no problem what you have on the car as long as it is ok with the traffic code. Obviously you cannot have a police spotlights, but there is no problem with other sources of light as long as you do not blind other people, this includes other cars, pedestrians, ships and planes.

Or do you mean those racks with lamps mounted on the roof? 6609