PDA

View Full Version : Relocation Is there a lot of rent scam on the island ?

IceDarri
06-09-2016, 14:12
Hi

I'm about to move to Tenerife from Iceland for an internship near Callao Salvaje, Adeje. I've been trying to look at apartments online but I'm a bit worried as my friend who lives in the southern part told me to be careful cause there is supposedly a lot of rent scam on the island. So are there any trustworthy agencies you recommend? Or should I maybe start living in an airbnb apartment and not look for something until I relocate to the island ?

Other question, only place I've lived in apart from parents house, is at Uni campus, so I'm not good at renting apartment matters. Do I need to join a Spanish bank to be able to pay rent? If not how do I pay rent?

If anyone read this far, thanks a lot

Kind regards
Halldor Darri

Alvy
06-09-2016, 14:19
Hi

I'm about to move to Tenerife from Iceland for an internship near Callao Salvaje, Adeje. I've been trying to look at apartments online but I'm a bit worried as my friend who lives in the southern part told me to be careful cause there is supposedly a lot of rent scam on the island.

Yes, very hard to rent out or in without being cought in some terrible circumstace

So are there any trustworthy agencies you recommend?

Agencies are that- they make money from somebodies else properties, trustworthy... they all sort of are, at the same time ...

Or should I maybe start living in an airbnb apartment and not look for something until I relocate to the island ?

Better, more expensive idea. In general you have no realistic hope in renting out, without being on the island anw

Other question, only place I've lived in apart from parents house, is at Uni campus, so I'm not good at renting apartment matters. Do I need to join a Spanish bank to be able to pay rent?