PDA

View Full Version : Long Term Rental Living away from the coast

joe552
07-11-2017, 21:03
Hi guys, I haven't been here for a while, but retirement age is approaching (too slowly for my liking). I've been holidaying in Tenerife for many years, but always on the coast. If I were to retire there, as is the plan, I'd be happy to live in a small town or village, maybe half an hour by bus from the coast. I'd only need a studio/one bed apartment with a balcony (essential - part of the dream). A few bars and restaurants. I'm a creature of habit, so tend to visit the same places ever day and quickly become a regular.

So any suggestions as to where I might be looking? Thanks for any advice.

Joe

Liftman
07-11-2017, 22:56
I would have loved to live in El Escobonal, But the other half couldn't cope with being that far from the sea. It's lovely.

joe552
08-11-2017, 00:09
I think I have to agree with your other half - looks a bit too remote for me. I don't drive, so I'd be dependent on public transport. I'd like to be in a small town.

Steve56
08-11-2017, 21:57
Hi Joe, you may wish to consider Adeje town, the municipal town of Costa Adeje. The town is a Spanish working town with many restaurants and bars. It is also only 4km to the coast and lots of busses pass through to all locations throughout Cost Adeje and also Los Christian's. Well worth consideration.

joe552
08-11-2017, 22:48
Thanks Steve - I'll certainly check that out.

delderek
08-11-2017, 22:53
Only one thing I would say is. Do not go too far from the coast. The winter climate may be different to what you expect.

Steve56
09-11-2017, 00:24
Oh, forgot to mention,, if you have the Adeje Chicken at Restaurant Oasis you won't want to be anywhere else :flatcap: the

joe552
09-11-2017, 05:46
Thanks, delderek - good advice. I've had a look at a few apartments/studios in Adeje, and rents are a bit higher than I was hoping for - which is something under €500 a month. But I'll keep looking around.

delderek