PDA

View Full Version : Tenerife estate agents - are they all totally incompetent?

mike in chayofa
01-07-2011, 17:34
As many of you will know MY HOUSE IN CHAYOFA (http://www.tenerifeforum.org/tenerife-forum/showthread.php?4632-Villa-and-apartment-in-Chayofa-Tenerife) is on the market.

Many of you know that I used to be an estate agent and I have to say that I am totally unsurprised that a lot of them are not selling very much property at the moment.

I took photographs of the house, wrote a description and gave them all my details. I put these folders onto a memory stick and went to six of the best known estate agents at the start of the week. In other words, I've done the initial work for them.

Of the six, my house only appears on one agents website.

One of the agents was so negative about the whole property market that I felt like commiting suicide. He also gave me information that is not correct - this from and 'open and honest' company.

Only one agent actually wanted to come and see it. He was due at 5pm on Wednesday. He cancelled and re-scheduled for 5pm today.

He phoned me to say that he was on his way and despite being given clear instructions of how to get here, he managed to get lost within 20 metres of the house. So, what did he do? Phone me?

Oh no, he went home and phoned me from there to say he couldn't find the house.

All in all, a complete shambles.

Balcony
01-07-2011, 17:42
Likewise we were trying to sell, but gave up on agents for now. None of them seemed interested, emails and phone calls largely unanswered: I think expecting everyone to run to them! Maybe actually having to work for a living scares a lot of them off!

We'll try again when we're out later this year.

Meanwhile, good luck.

tizzywizzy
01-07-2011, 17:45
:wall:You do wonder how these people stay in business.. I wish you lots of luck with selling your house,If I had the money i would love it.

dokgolf
01-07-2011, 17:50