PDA

View Full Version : Advice needed about buying a secondhand car in Tenerife.

viv
28-07-2011, 17:37
Hi All, I'm new to the Tenerife Forum, so I'm sorry if i'm in the wrong place!!! my wife & I have move to Tenerife and have been renting a car. As I guess you will know this can be costly so we are looking to buy a second hand car of our own. We have looked at a couple of garages in Las Cheafarias, they look very good and the people seem genuinue at the garage, but we've heard you have to be carful.... Has anyone have any information they would like to share with us good or bad. Thanks :0)

Suzanne
28-07-2011, 17:40
bst to buy from a garage, insist that the transfer to your name is included in the price and that it is all clear of fines and that the local road tax to the townhall is all paid up. other than that good luck.

viv
28-07-2011, 17:47
Thanks Suzanne, for the information. We have been told we will pay 4% tax on the value of the car not the price the car is being sold at.. Do know anything about that?? thanks Viv

Suzanne
28-07-2011, 17:58
No I dont, but you should contact Goldenmaniac she has excellent advise.

viv
28-07-2011, 18:02
thank you :0)

slodgedad
28-07-2011, 20:18
IGIC (VAT) is payable on the purchase, unlike in the UK on privately bought second hand cars.

It doesn't have to be paid on purchase but the debt is with the car, which is why a proper search for previous debt is essential.

You may buy a car for 5,000 that has changed hands a couple of times, never paid road tax or anything else tied to the car and you, as the new owner, are liable.

Before you transfer get the debt checked!!!!

Goldenmaniac
28-07-2011, 20:53
Here is a check list for the main things to get and check
CAR SALE / PURCHASE CHECKLIST

Seller

Copies of:
NIF
Or if non Spanish: White NIE in date plus Passport OR certificado de registro plus passport OR old style plastic residencia IF still in date.