PDA

View Full Version : Hi everybody, advice needed about getting healthcare in Tenerife on a UK pension

Tenerifelass
03-08-2011, 12:49
Hello Everybody,
I am new to this so a big hi to all of u guys.
I need some advice please.

I am a pensioner and receive my pension back home in England. I have my NIE doc and social security number sorted now, but when I go to the health centre they say that I am entitled to health care only if I work here in Spain! They say that my social security number is not active so I cant access health care!! Can somebody advise what I should do...where else should I register?
Also, I have a used memory stick through Fedex and they tell me that I should activate my NIE number with the tax office to be able to receive my memory stick! can somebody help me understand why/where I should activate my NIE to receive a second hand memory stick which is worth less than 4 pounds?!!
Cheers
TenerifeLass

Balcony
03-08-2011, 13:07
Yoiu may have to have your pension paid into a Spanish bank - which, sadly, will incur you in extra bank charges. A private pension then no longer becomes taxable in the UK, but it is taxable in Spain as it is regarded as income. A UK government pension is taxable in the UK and to avoid double taxation in Spain you need to contact the UK Tax authorities. See a gestor in Tenerife who will be able to help resolve onward admin.

Essentially, you need to get both feet in Tenerife rather than trying to keep one in the UK. You have to show you are a proper resident in one or the other!

Goldenmaniac
03-08-2011, 13:26
Hello Everybody,
I am new to this so a big hi to all of u guys.
I need some advice please.