PDA

View Full Version : Having a baby in Tenerife. Advice needed about work.

Lee_K_00
08-08-2011, 22:57
Hello all!...

Moved here back in April and love being here! But since found out that i'm to become a dad! Which I am really excited about! But left with a bit of a dilemma...
At the minute i'm working in a family bar, both me and my girlfriend, but the job itself (working hours and pay) aren't really going to be suitable once the baby is born and neither is the place were staying, (with family). So ideally i'd like to find a job working an average amount of hours each week (around 40), with a guaranteed wage so that I know I can afford to pay bills and put bread on the table... But is this even possible!? I have spent the last couple of weeks looking but all jobs seem to be commission based! Which is no good when you have a baby to care for!
I'm a joiner by trade and thought about going self employed, but right now my main priority is to get a suitable guaranteed income. I'm not fussy about the job and i'm hard working and a quick learner. But what are the chances of finding something? I understand the longer i'm here for the more chance I have of finding something but I want to try and sort as much out as I can now, rather than leaving it to last minute.
So do I move back to miserable England (where I know I can find work), or stick it out and hope something comes up?
Also, if I do manage to find a suitable job, what's it like here for expats, in regards to having a baby and such? From what I gather there isn't a MotherCare shop, but is everything still easily available?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!...

TIS
09-08-2011, 00:30
Well Lee_K_00, I at least, will wish you well on the forthcoming birth of your baby/babies - do you know it is a singleton or more?